Illinois Window Tint Laws
As an Illinois driver, it’s important to know about the state’s window tint laws. A lack of knowledge will not prevent you from being punished by the law. Here are some of the window tinting rules and regulations you want to keep in mind from Taxman, Pollock, Murray & Bekkerman, LLC.
Measurement of Window Tint Darkness
Window tint is usually measured in VLT or visible light transmission. This measurement determines how much light can pass through the film and glass of your windows. Generally, the higher the VLT, the more light can pass through. The lower the VLT, the darker the tint. The amount of VLT in each window depends on the type of vehicle and the window’s location.
Types of Vehicles
Each vehicle is designed with a different purpose. For example, a sedan is a vehicle used to transport up to several passengers daily.
For sedans, only 6 inches of the front windshield can be tinted. For the rear windshield, only 35% can be tinted.
Just like sedans, the front windshield of an SUV is only allowed for the top 6 inches. However, 50% of light must be able to come through the tints of an SUV’s front side windows. The back and rear windshields can use any type of tint.
Regulations For Reflectiveness
Illinois window tint laws also regulate the amount of reflectiveness in a vehicle’s windows. Illinois state law requires the front and back side windows to be non-reflective. Because the law does not specify what is reflective and non-reflective, you may violate the tint laws without even realizing it.
Another factor that makes Illinois window tint laws complex is that there are other regulations to consider. Some of these other regulations include:
- Side mirrors. If your back windows are tinted, you must have dual side mirrors.
- Colors. You are prevented from using different tint colors for your windows.
- Certificates. All window manufacturers are not required to certify the film they use in the state.
- Stickers. In Illinois, you are not required to carry a sticker identifying legal tinting on your windows.
The only exception to window tint laws is medical exceptions. There are medical conditions that allow you to carry a special tint. Some of these conditions are albinism, severe drug photosensitivity, and porphyria.
To prevent yourself from being fined, you’ll need to obtain a certified letter from a licensed physician. You also want to ensure that you carry that letter on you to present to an officer at all times.
Penalties For Illegal Window Tint
You may wonder why tinting laws are so important to the state. A window’s tint can help increase a vehicle’s security and reduce UV exposure. If the tint of a window is too dark, it can cause visibility issues for you and other drivers. It may even prevent officers from identifying you and other passengers in the event of an accident.
Window tint laws are considered petty offenses. The first time you violate the tint laws, you may have to pay a fine from $50-500. Repeat offenses may cost you anywhere from $100-500.
You want to avoid paying out this unnecessary cost as much as possible.